Always their gal

There was to be no argument about it. 

“Just to make sure that you know your way there and back later. Don’t worry lah. I won’t send you all the way, just to the train station”, he insisted. Yup, daddy wouldn’t have it any other way.

As I walked through the barrier and flashed my ezicard at the automated gate, a bout of déjà vu hit me.

Suddenly, I was back in my college years. When I moved some 300+km away from home in my quest for the piece of paper that would get me far in life. Mom & dad were more excited  than me and worried their heads off about how I’d survive being in unfamiliar territories with strangers. Three years later, I came home with a scroll in my hand and all ready to take on the world (or so I thought).

15 years later, I found myself going through the same myriad of emotions as I made my way to my new workplace for the new year. And I can’t help but smile at how Life makes it so interesting for us sometimes.

As I sit here nursing my tired feet, I remind myself that it’s just a matter of time before everything falls into place again and the non-conforming part of me starts looking for ways to do things differently.

Why? Simply because I am different. I am Eleen Por.

But to mom & dad, I will always be their gal.

Leave a Reply

